Being arrested for DWI in Texas is confusing and overwhelming — even more so if you are not familiar with a DWI attorney already — and why would you be, especially if it’s a DWI first offense? A drunk driving charge is uncharted territory, for sure, and likely not something you ever thought you’d ever have to think about. Maybe you aren’t even familiar with the area, visiting Texas at the time you were arrested (and definitely not expecting to see anyone from the San Antonio Police Department as part of your trip).
But now you have questions on what it means to be arrested for intoxication while driving, and what to expect in DWI court.
Whether it’s your first or third DWI, we understand. And we can help.
In San Antonio, DWI attorney Jamie Balagia helps you understand what it means to be arrested for a DWI in Texas. Our office provides free consultations and answers our phones 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. We know that immediate access is important, as is having an attorney familiar with the San Antonio area. This sets us apart. Balagia is a skilled DWI lawyer with extensive experience trying DWI cases, specifically in Bexar County.
For instance, it’s understandable that you may not know much about things like DWI penalties.
After an arrest for DWI in Texas, the first action is an automatic driver’s license suspension. You have to file an appeal of this suspension within 15 days before losing the right to save your driving privileges. You need a San Antonio DUI attorney who knows the process — along with all the potential DWI penalties — in your corner.
Balagia will file this appeal for you, and represent you at this hearing. You won’t be alone. Read more on our Texas DWI license suspension page.
Call now for your free San Antonio DWI case review, and we’ll go over all the details — together.
San Antonio No Refusal Weekends
Our office often gets questions about Bexar County No Refusal Weekends, which is not surprising! The government’s public information on this matter is misleading.
You do have the right to refuse:
- To answer police questions about where you are coming from, where you are going, and whether you have drank any alcohol
- All field sobriety tests
- All handheld breath-testing machines
- Breath testing at the station
- Blood testing without a warrant
- Urine testing
- To answer any questions the police ask you other than your name, insurance, and registration
The Bexar County No Refusal Weekends policy means that if you refuse an evidentiary blood, breath, or urine test, the officer will apply for a warrant from a judge or magistrate to draw your blood. You can still ask to consult with a San Antonio DWI attorney before you answer any questions or agree to take any field sobriety tests. Remember: There is no guarantee that the warrant application will be approved. For more information about the No Refusal Weekends policy, read our No Refusal Weekends page.
What to do if you are pulled over by San Antonio Police
Our office gets questions on traffic stops all the time, such as: “Do I have to hand over my vehicle registration?” “Must I answer the police officer’s questions?”
When you get stopped for a DWI in Texas by the San Antonio Police Department (SAPD), you have the right to remain silent, refuse field sobriety tests, and refuse the portable breath test without any penalty against your license and without facing any criminal charge. You must, however, provide police with a copy of your driver’s license, proof of insurance, and registration.
If the SAPD asks you for consent to search your vehicle, to perform field sobriety tests, or any other questions, ask to call San Antonio DWI lawyer Jamie Balagia at the DWI Dudes. Is it midnight? No problem. Our phones are answered 24/7.
Remember, any answer you give will be used by the state as evidence against you for either a San Antonio DWI charge, or an obstruction charge. Ask to call our San Antonio DWI expert Jamie Balagia and do not say anything else — regardless of what the officer says or asks.
Drugs that Impair
The fastest-growing area of DWI enforcement? The Drug Recognition Evaluation (DRE) program. Do you take any prescription medication? Many of us do. But you may run the risk of being prosecuted for a San Antonio DWI, even if you have not had any alcohol to drink.
Where Texas DWI law forbids you from operating a motor vehicle while impaired by drugs or alcohol, having prescription drugs in your system can result in a San Antonio DWI as easily as illegal drugs. Our San Antonio DWI lawyers know how to defend against these charges.
The typical San Antonio DWI arrest based on a DRE begins and proceeds much like a DWI arrest based on alcohol. But the difference in a DRE-based San Antonio DWI arrest comes after you have taken a breath test and tested under .08 for blood-alcohol content, or BAC. Typically, the officer will request a DRE-trained officer to come in and perform the evaluation on you.
For more about a San Antonio DWI-based or DRE evidence, read our Texas DRE page. If you have been arrested, call San Antonio DWI Attorney Jamie Balagia now — the consultation is free.
What to do after a DWI arrest
If you have been arrested for DWI in Texas, you have questions. You may not know what to do next. Call our San Antonio DWI attorney for a free consultation.
We will help you understand what you face on the road ahead, and explain the best ways to protect yourself against these charges. Our San Antonio DWI lawyers are trained in the standardized field sobriety tests, and all facets of defending people charged with a DWI in Texas, especially Bexar County — whether it’s their first, second or third DWI.
Call now and get highly skilled San Antonio DWI lawyer Jamie Balagia protecting your rights and working for you.