Austin DWI lawyers and San Antonio DWI lawyers have long questioned the reasonableness of the tactics of the police when investigating and making DWI in Texas arrests, as well as the consequences of a conviction. This page will help you understand what the short-term and long-term consequences of a DWI in Texas really are. If you have been arrested in San Antonio or Austin, call us right now for a free, no obligation case evaluation!
The State of Texas brags that a first time DWI in Texas can cost you as much as $10,000. A first time DWI in Texas is still a misdemeanor offense. Does it make sense that it should cost you $10,000, but any other first time misdemeanor charge will cost you about $1,000? Of course not.
Besides the money you pay for a DWI in Texas, think about the secondary costs that the courts never tell you about:
1. Increase in premium or denial of life insurance for several years.
2. Increase in premium or denial of auto insurance for several years.
3. Inability to pass security clearances.
4. Disqualification from certain jobs.
5. Denial of right to enter certain countries for life.
6. Evidence of a DWI conviction will be used against you in a child custody or divorce case.
7. Inability to obtain commercial or other driver’s license for up to five years in some states.
8. Inability to accept a job that requires driving a vehicle as part of the job description.
9. Lower credit rating.
10. Inability to receive certain government benefits and loans.
11. Inability to conveniently get to and from work.
These are just some of the secondary consequences of a DWI in Texas. If you have been arrested for a DWI in Texas call our San Antonio DWI lawyers, or Austin DWI lawyers for free information about how to best protect yourself from the overly harsh consequences of a DWI conviction. You only have 15 days to protect your driver’s license. Call right now!